The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I’m new to vintage Seikos and have been admiring them for a few months now. I have recently sold a few watches a freed up done watch cash. I purchased a Lord Matic that’s the same age as me :) and then intended to put the rest to a King Seiko. I found a beauty, but it turned out to have a rotor from a different watch in it. I then found a Grand Seiko in what appeared to be in excellent condition at a very good price and bought the watch (on a well know auction site). I should’ve examined it much more closely. It turns out the dial and hands are from a different GS :’(
The watch has not be posted to me yet and I’ve questioned the buyer about the situation. He has yet to get back to me. My question is should I keep the watch, as it was such a good buy or request a refund?
Here’s the watch in question and many thanks if you’ve got this far in my post.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
Since the auction ended, you could post a link here. We can help you better if we see the sales listing.

Did the seller say it’s all original or did the seller admit the dial/hand swap in the sales post?

·
Premium Member
9,260 Posts
Personally on a watch like that, I'd want everything original and correct. I know it's disappointing and a PITA but I'd return it straight away as "product not as described" if he wasn't fully transparent on the originality.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My guess is that it had water damage, the rotor looks rusty, and the original dial was probably ruined. I didn’t think of that at first. I’ve got a guy waiting to give the watch a full service and he’s seen the movement photo and thinks it’s nothing he can’t sort out for me (he’s very reputable).

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #6