The Watch Site banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says really, what do you charge for work carried out on watches that are not yours?
Im not a watchmaker by trade just by hobby and i do not call myself a watchmaker more of a tinkerer thats self taught. Trouble is word has got round my works that im the "go to" man for all things watch like. Mostly its just battery changes but i do get asked for crystal replacement, re stacking hands sealing and waterproofing etc. Trouble is i dont really know what to ask for for my service and time, mostly time and parts. I started to do the first job per person for free but i found that was the only job i was doing and i was losing out on batteries so usually im at the couple of quid, if they want it cleaned etc it goes to a fiver anything other than that i dont really know what to charge ( i know my watchmaker charged £65 for a movement service on a seiko 5 but he was a watchmaker so had the training to back up that price, bit of a quandary really.

·
Registered
6,231 Posts
I fix any friend, family member, or friend's family member's watches for free. I don't even charge for the batteries since I buy 5-packs on ebay for like $3.

I enjoy working on watches so my pleasure gained offsets the cost of a cheap crystal. battery, etc.

I guy who works for me knows I wear Rolex to major work meetings, so he brought me his son's "Rolex" that he "found" Obviously a cheap knock-off. I polished the mineral crystal, changed out the crown, donated an end link, and gave it the full ultrasonic cleaner/Cape Cod cloth/Veraet treatment. All for no charge, because I'd rather my guy works hard for me knowing I take care of him rather than pop a crispy $20 bill in my wallet.

·
Special Member
4,777 Posts