The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.
Does anyone know how to remove the back of my Seiko 6m25 watch so I can change the battery please?

·
Registered
4,929 Posts
Hello, a brief introduction would be nice before you get into the questions.
Also can you give the other numbers from the back of your watch eg 6m25-6000, to help us to help you.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Very sorry for launching into questions without intro. I'm a retired engineer living in London. My wife bought me the watch in about 1996 (rough guess), and although it's old I'm very fond of it. I ordered a new battery online, but can't get the back off.

The numbers on the back are 6M25-0010 and in a square box, R1
JAPAN M

Hope this helps

Very grateful any advice or help

John

·
Registered
4,929 Posts
Does your case back look similar to this one? (Pic from RLT forum)

Attachments

·
Registered
4,929 Posts
Hi and welcome, looks like you will need one of these tools to remove it, has it got a small lip/cutout in one area around the circumference ?

Cut out usually found near to the lugs on the case. Battery is SR927W

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hello, thank you.
It hasn't got any cut outs...the periphery is uniform all the way round the circumference. There doesn't seem to be anywhere to lever the back off

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Well, I can't see one. Nor can I feel one with a 0.9mm flat head precision screwdriver running round the circumference.

·
Registered
204 Posts
You may need to clean it a little with alcohol on a qtip.

I use a utility blade to work slowly and gently around the circumference of the caseback.

Good luck!

·
Registered
4,929 Posts
And use strong light with some type of magnification!

·
Registered
111 Posts