The Watch Site banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts
L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Authored by AadmanZ

Hi all,

This is my first review and I am a relative newbie when it comes to watches and Seikos and particular, but since I have found so much information on this forum I thought it would be only fair to add my two cents.

Serial
The watch in question is a 6139-7010. (dial says 6139-7010T) Serial: 023363. Judging only from some interwebs research it appears to be a bit of a rarity.

Nickname
Not sure if it has a nickname, but I guess that would be Speed-Timer as that is what it says on the dial
From what I can gather it is a Japan domestic market model. The datewheel is in English/Kanji (Japanese) and the name Speed-timer was supposedly only used on Japanese models.

Overview
The dial and case are marked: Waterproof (dial: WATER70mPROOF) which (according to several people much more knowledgeable than me) apparently was only used on earlier models, the calculator tells me it is a march 1972 model however. Correction: Feb 1970, mystery solved.
What makes this watch interesting to me is that it has an arabic dial (it has numbers on), this appears to be unique this one model, as I have been unable to unearth another one like it.

Case and movement
The two chrono buttons do work, but are a bit hard to push in. I guess age does that to a watch, it might need some new gaskets, but as the watch is in fine running order, I think I will leave it for now.
The second hand and the subdial hand reset to zero quite well, the second hand occasionally not coming back to the 12o clock position entirely.
The daydate set function is a bit weird, I believe it is called a quickset, but it is anything but.
Trying to set the day without changing the date is all but impossible, but when would you want to do that anyway
? The crown is nicely recessed and slightly concave, which is a small, but nice design feature.