The Watch Site banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts
L

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Authored by whitestripes

Today I’d like to share my review of the Seiko SARB031. I’m not an expert on the different lines Seiko currently has out, but I know on the low end they have the 7S26 powered watches, of which I have an SKX031 (modded by Harold with M-Benz hands and a Super Oyster) and a SKX007. I also have an old Seiko 5 my dad gave me in high school when he found out I was interested in mechanical watches… started the craze. On the mid-end, they have the new 6R15 movements, which are nice, handwindable, hackable movements, addressing the chief complaints of the 7S26 movement.

Most people are so used to the ubiquitous ETA movements handwinding and hacking that they see movements that lack such functions as inherently inferior. However, the 7S26 has an amazing track record of reliability, and manual winding is not that necessary because the “Magic Lever” automatic winding system is so efficient. Anyway, this review is about the SARB031 and the new movement, so enough about the 7S26.

I’ve been thinking about getting a proper dress watch for a few months now. Since I am a huge Omega fan despite not being able to afford any at the moment, I thought about getting a vintage Omega Seamaster in the classic style that the Seiko has, like this (photo not mine):

I came very close to buying a watch similar to that, either a Geneve or a Calendar… vintage SS seamasters can be found on eBay for under $300, so why would I spend more on a Seiko? The sketchy service histories and potential parts availability (or lack thereof) turned me off. I have no watch making experience nor have I found a watchmaker to my liking. Also, a lot of them had damaged dials (not that into the ‘wabi’ or the look of patina on a dial or movement, so that turned me off. Redials got very expensive.

Enter the SARB031:
[img]http://i399.photobucket.com/albums/pp73/whitestripes3570/CIMG0414.jpg