The Watch Site banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there! I just found this board today and wanted to introduce myself and explain how I got here.

First of all, I will readily admit that I'm not an expert collector or anything close. But I've had a love of watches since I was a kid. Every time my dad bought a new watch, I would receive his "old" one. This has happened numerous times over the years and as recently as a couple years ago. He knows I like them as much as he does.

I've had a lot of different watches over the years. Some have been great and are still in my possession, and some were just cheap & functional for a time and I have no idea where they've ended up.

Recently the watch I've been wearing the last couple years had the battery die out on me. I haven't had time to get it replaced. So, I started looking around and found one of my favorite watches. It's a Seiko 6309-7049 that I bought in the early 1980s. I was stationed at Kadena AB, on the island of Okinawa, Japan. I bought the watch from the Base Exchange when I started working on getting my dive certification. It has been used on numerous dives of various depths and as deep as 120 ft a couple of times. This watch has been worn intermittently over the years, as I've bought and worn other watches now and then. But I seem to always keep coming back to this watch. So, when my other watch died on me a couple weeks ago, I set the time on my 6309, gave it a few shakes to get it moving and put it on. It's been running great ever since, like it had never stopped. Even though it hasn't been worn in almost 10 years.