The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi folks!
Last week I acquired a very special watch from a good friend. It's a Seiko 7548-701A, serial # 480273. That would make this the 273rd watch (of this calibre?) built in August, 1984, I believe? The battery replacement dot is over the latter half of the "87".
I am a NOOB to this sort of detailed history and involvement in a watch manufacturer, and I have to tell you, I'm hooked! Please forgive any errors you find in my assumptions.
I understand this is considered a "Transitional" divers quartz model, as Seiko began rating these later varieties as "Professional 200m." instead of the earlier 150m.-rated quartz divers models? Is this 7548-701A the earliest model of an Orange-dialed Professional 200m. quartz diver?
This was produced for the JDM and has the Kanji/English day wheel, and is in excellent working condition, except the bezel does not rotate, and the watchband is unsightly (and of course not original). The case has a bit of gunk on it above where the pins rest, and so it needs a very minimalist, extra-light cleaning on the exterior. I don't want to ruin the patina, though. The Crown works well and screws in nice. Dial, hands and crystal are excellent, to my untrained eye. Luminescence is un-luminescent. I don't think I'd want it re-lumed, maybe just replace gaskets and light cleaning, if I could find the right person for the job. Battery was replaced before I got it.