The Watch Site banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm new to Bells.

I managed to get 4 and they all have problems except one.

Have broken pivots on 2 escape wheel pivots and another on a pallet fork.

Is there an inherent problem with these or am I just unlucky?

Sent from my SM-N960U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
Could be a bit unlucky but that said the Bell-Matics I have collected and rebuilt all seem to have one or more problems. One common issue is the dial feet sheer off very easily.

I think you would have to reach out to someone like Adrian at Vintage Time Australia who sees alot of these to get an accurate idea of the common problems.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Probably unlucky. Was hoping to make 2 good ones and maybe a third.

Was a bit surprised as these movements are built like tanks.

Never worked on these, but it makes the 6138 look like a walk in the park.

·
Registered
1,836 Posts
I've had a few of these and only one has ever run well when I got it (much lower strike rate than any other movements I've had). I think it's because they're complicated (fewer watchmakers around who work on them) and more expensive to service. Thus they're less likely to have been serviced during the past 45-50 years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
222 Posts
I think it depends on which end of the market you are buying. Get four cheap ones and you are likely to see a lot of broken escape wheels and pallet forks.