The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi SCWF,
A quick question; what lubricants do you use on quartz movements? (Seiko 7548, etc). I've rebuilt a handful of C300s and I've got one that was literally soaked in WD40 that needs servicing (the previous owner sprayed the whole watch "liberally" with it to free up a stuck pusher which was actually bent...). In addition, the donor Seiko 5M23 I bought for my Kinetic Tuna needs a strip down and rebuild as it has a lot of debris inside. Since I'm new to servicing movements, I don't have any oils with me so which oils should I buy?
Thanks in advance!
Jay

·
Registered
419 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the prompt replies! @Don; I've come across Anchor brand stuff before, how have the results been?
@bk_lake; thanks for that snippet. Citizen has codes in their service documents for the C300 too (A-lube, B-lube, V-lube and CH-1 oil). Any chance these are the same?

·
Registered
249 Posts
I have no clue what the Citizen oil equivalents are. I seem to remember a chart somewhere that had viscosity of the various oils and there were a few Citizen oils included. I'll have to look.

·
Registered
2,637 Posts
Thanks for the prompt replies! @Don; I've come across Anchor brand stuff before, how have the results been?
@bk_lake; thanks for that snippet. Citizen has codes in their service documents for the C300 too (A-lube, B-lube, V-lube and CH-1 oil). Any chance these are the same?
I have used it on 9 7548's and 4 or 5 7546's and all are still running within spec.

·
Registered
4,796 Posts
Because they have jewels, and Seiko say you should lubricate specific positions. Read the tech pdfs. They don't recommend using snake-oil though.

·
Registered
4,796 Posts
I said jewels and specific positions, if you read my post.

·
Registered
4,796 Posts
Then I apologise for my remark 😃

·
Registered
4,796 Posts
Humour, Har Har. 😂 RIP Mork.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts