The Watch Site banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back in March I got a Promaster NY0054-4E. I wanted a not-expensive mechanical watch for every day use - it had to be tough and light, so I went with the Ti version. After over two months wearing it, here is how I feel about the watch:

Case
Light and tough, just perfect on a watch that you don't want to be reminded that is there. And even though it's in "scratch prone Ti", so far I haven't had not even a swirl on the case.

Strap
Initially I was very skeptic about the rubber strap, since I'm a bracelet guy. But you know what, this is maybe the most comfortable watch that I have, and that's because of the strap.

Since it doesn't hack, I can't exactly set the time to the exact second, so I can't be very precise about this. From what I've seen so far I think my watch is doing around +10/day, and that is very good IMO. Another thing that amazes me is how easy it is to charge the spring - I wear it one night and I'll have enough charge to last me until the next night. The only watch that I ever saw that does better then that are my Orients (RM1 & 2), both with the 49643 calibers. These two are amazing: besides the charge lasting forever, one swing when they're dead in the watch box and they're good for almost an hour. Another thing about the 8203 is the so called "8203 stutter" - if the thing exists, I can't even imagine what color the beast is, because so far I wasn't able to make it happen.

Lume
When I got the watch I was under the impression that it wasn't so good, but now I think exactly the opposite: if it's not the BEST lume I have, it's the second best. Totally awesome at three in the morning!

What I don't like
When you turn the crown to hand wind things are rough, not faintly close to the smoothness of the 6R15. And also, the threads on the crown seem to be very coarse, because I have the impression I'm grinding metal whenever I loosen or tighten the crown.