The Watch Site banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
I'm a newbie to the site so please go easy on me....

My father passed away several years ago and my mum recently found an old watch of his and gave it to me.

He wore the watch when my parents first met and so i believe it dates from the early 1970's.

It hasn't been worn for the best part of 30 years and so id love to get it back up and running but i also wanted to try and get a little more information- the movement number i can see is 6139-6012.

The glass is pretty beat up so I'm guessing would need replacing.
I've had it to a local watch repair place who opened it up and had a quick look-- they found a small amount of rust around the edge underneath the case back and the push buttons on the side are stiff/ stuck.

I'd love if anyone one can shed a little light on the watch/ its history/ if it looks all original/ if its likely to be repairable etc etc....

I'm not too interested in the financial value as it means far more to me just to have the watch back working and wearable..

Thank you in advance,

Matt

·
Registered
6,409 Posts
Welcome to SCWF.

That looks like a nice one to me and certainly repairable. An August '71 version. Once it's had a service, crystal replacement and pushers sorted it's going to be a lovely watch. Some lume degradation on the hour hand but nothing too terrible.

A number of very talented members here who could have a look at it for you.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to SCWF.

That looks like a nice one to me and certainly repairable. Once it's had a service, crystal replacement and pushers sorted it's going to be a lovely watch. Some lume degradation on the hour hand but nothing too terrible.

A number of very talented members here who could have a look at it for you.