The Watch Site banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am new to SCWF after inheriting my Father's everyday watch that he used in the 70's and 80's:

Seiko Automatic 7006-7119 (s/n starts with "28")

Trying to decide best path forward to get it cleaned up and functioning again as an everyday watch for myself.

Needs servicing/cleaning and may need new crystal, gasket...
Bracelet needs to be resized for my wrist (new links? larger clasp? new band?)

SeikoUSA official service is $145 (w/o crystal)
I am also searching for local watchmakers in Los Angeles and have an on-line estimate coming.
Some buddies at work are watch collectors, but I am not certain I want to give them a go at it.

Suggestions and advice for a Newbie?
What direction would you go?
Also, I am having trouble finding any information on this specific model/caliber....is it a DX?
How do I identify bracelets and find additional links or replacement parts for the bracelet?

Nervous about buying crystals, gaskets, etc. on-line because the ones I am finding seem to match the 7006 range, not the 7006-7119 specifically.

Thanks in advance for any replies or advice!!!
--Matt

Attachments

·
Registered
992 Posts
Hi Matt,

you’ve come to the right place...

Good luck in your quest to restore your Dad’s watch, it’s a very common reason people find this place (and can be the top of a very slippery slope!)

The 7006-7119 is an entry level Seiko dress watch, yours dates from August 1972. The correct replacement crystal is 300T15ANGO originals of which can be found on eBay, or you can buy generic replacements from a number of watch supply houses - 30.0mm diameter with a gold tension ring - the watch came in both steel and gold plated versions and yours is the gold (I think, sometimes hard to tell in photos...)

A full list of the correct parts can be found in Jules borel’s watch parts database here: LINK