The Watch Site banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi SCWF!
Im a newbie to watch collecting and my first Seiko purchase was a vintage Seiko 6139-7100 helmet. The beautiful design had really caught my eye.
Possibly foolheartedly, I bought one off of ebay with a faded dial and tachymeter ring.

So I come before you Seiko lords.. to save my purchase (and save me from my wife).. Could anyone offer a website or place to find parts for this watch besides Ebay? The ebay dials for sale don't look "right"..

Is there anything else I should be looking out for or pick up for it? Ie. gaskets?

Any help and/or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Craftsman
3,890 Posts
Welcome to the Madness.......uhhh, I mean Forum.

You'll want new pusher, crown, and case back gaskets for sure. The crystal gaskets usually stay soft, pliable, and reusable.

Check out Seikosis on the bay. He has some quality reproductions when it comes to dials and bezels.

Tom

·
Registered
912 Posts
Where are you?
Oh yeah and.... welcome!

So it looks like you've just got your first Seiko 6139..............;]
Unfortunately you've fallen into a trap we all (definitely myself included) have fallen into. ebay sellers can make a watch look appealing and like a good buy, but doesn't always work out that way when you start to see what they have done to it.....

You would do well to speak to Mr. Stefan (SeikoChrono here on SCWF, schilachi52 on ebay). He is our local Seiko parts hero and fountain of knowledge.

Good luck with your Seiko future!

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Welcome to the SCWF asylum!