The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm new to the forum and to Seikos in general. I'm currently looking at a few vintage Seikos on ebay, but I'm having trouble determining if they're fake or not. I was directed here from the Quartzimodo blog and am hoping you all can help me out.

First up is a Seiko 5:

The Quartizmodo blog said that no Seiko would ever say "Japan Made" on the dial, and this one clearly does. So, is it safe to assume that this one is a fake? Here's a pic of the back of the case:

The other three all, in my mind at least, appear to be modified, with some sort of aftermarket dial to match the straps. I'm not 100% sure on that though, so I looked at the case backs and they seem ok to me. But again, I'm completely new to this so I don't know what I might be overlooking.

So, what does everyone think? Are these Feikos? Or can I bid with confidence knowing I will be getting the real deal? Thank you all in advance!

·
Registered
291 Posts
Judging simply by the dials, I would say that none of them check out as authentic. As for the casing, hands, caseback and such details, others will surely be able to chime in with more particulars.

But if the dial is truly suspect, unless the other components are valuable, best to steer clear.

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
I will commend you. Usually people that come here, buy the watches first and then ask if they are real.

You are ahead of most.

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Absolute trash dials, avoid, avoid, avoid!

A good indicator is the price. All these horrible pieces oh crap are usually cheap.

I’ll put a pic up later (for a good laugh) of one of these eBay special ‘Seiko’s’ my Dad bought the other day, I told him to cancel the transaction as it’s clearly fake but the seller wouldn’t have any of it he reckons. Luckily he’s sending it to my house so I shall send it back for him!