The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always found the 6309 cushion case to be one of the most attractive and comfortable case designs I have ever come across. Over time (and as a modder), I soon realized that my 6309s stayed in the watch box while the SKXs eventually got sold. This just reinforces my love of the 6309 and how it can be modded as easily as the SKX. I don't do these mods just for the sake of changing things up, I do them to get the distinct look that I want. Modding allows me to get more fun out of watch collecting. Once done, I don't mess with the mod anymore and enjoy it for as long as it keeps me interested and only fine tune the design if and when necessary.

As a step up to the usual hands, bezel, dial change routine, I ordered a lume kit and decided to learn how to replace crystals. I had a TST case ordered which meant that when it arrived I had to build the watch from scratch, something I've never done before. Now I know you guys love before and after pics but I'm really poor at documenting the stuff I do so please bear with these limited 'before' photos...

6309-7290 based TST case, DD crystal, gaskets, coke insert, coin edge bezel and lume kit -

Hands roughed-up, harassed, stripped and prepped -

Hands painted using "1/24 scale model car building" skills summoned from decades ago -

Hands relumed -

Things did not happen overnight of course. Planning for the 'look' I wanted took long because I didn't want to create something only to change my mind again after some time. I wanted my TST to be bad ass and look different from the rest but still retain its very Seiko DNA. John Bentley's (TheTigerUK) TST case work is amazing! So here's what I came up with after a few weeks of design planning...