The Watch Site banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering buying this 6139, claimed to be original parts, but I noticed weird wear and tear around the subdial. Can anyone fathom a guess as to what caused it, and if it's a serious issue?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,430 Posts
I have a couple of 6139s but not the "Pogue" so I'm no expert and couldn't fathom a guess at the cause of the damage. For me, however, that would be a pretty big issue as it spoils the look of what should be a truly handsome watch.

There are plenty of these about, and some of them are actually non AM fakes too [!] so I think I personally would pass on this one and be patient until the next comes around.

Just my 0.02 worth.

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
This is a common area for corrosion on yellow dial 6139's and from what I understand (thanks Jonathan) the clear lacquer coating on the dial is thinnest around the edge of the sub dial which allows corrosion to start in this area.

·
Registered
1,430 Posts
SeikoPsycho2 said:
This is a common area for corrosion on yellow dial 6139's and from what I understand (thanks Jonathan) the clear lacquer coating on the dial is thinnest around the edge of the sub dial which allows corrosion to start in this area.
Info added to memory banks. It's one of the reasons I like this place so much; the knowledge of the members and their willingness to share that experience with others.

I'll plus one you for that!

+1

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
Thanks for the +1. I can use all I can get........... ;)

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
BTW, I bought a supposed "original" Seiko bracelet from that seller some time ago and what I received was a cheap knock-off.

·
Registered
3,472 Posts

·
Registered
845 Posts
Yes, that is a pretty common problem with some original gold dial 6139's.