The Watch Site banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking into getting a Luminox but the glow seems to be pretty weak (the salesman tells me they're much brighter)
Does anyone ever seen a Luminox glow at night and can compare to a regular new Seikoi diver ?

Thanks
Gaspar

·
Registered
2,504 Posts
The gas tubes are not as bright as lumed material, but they have the advantage of not needing light to charge them so what you see is what you get for at least 10 years or so. After that they will eventually fade to black as the radioactivity decays.

·
Registered
232 Posts
No it's not as bright as an initially charged SKX007. But after 15 minutes it's equal to any non tritium tube watch. I don't like the look of trit tubes during the day even though I wear a Luminox everyday....it's my work watch I'm a contractor. I've had another Luminox for 12 years now and it is barely noticeable, but it has lost a touch of brightness. As far as I know they will last more along the lines of 20+ years.

A lume test I did eons ago: (Luminox is bottom right corner there are several watches in here inclu 2 seikos a monster and a sumo)

The Luminox tested

And here is the link to the test I did if you are interested ----> click here

Initial charge:

15 minutes later:

2 hours later

·
Registered
196 Posts
nhoJ said:
The gas tubes are not as bright as lumed material, but they have the advantage of not needing light to charge them so what you see is what you get for at least 10 years or so. After that they will eventually fade to black as the radioactivity decays.
The lume will stay constant through the night - but it will decay, year by year, during the first 10 years. It may even go completely - I had a Nite tube fail completely when it couldn't have been even five years old. I'd only consider tritium tube illumination on a cheap watch that I'd be ok disposing of if the lume decayed.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·