The Watch Site banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9,869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Received an interesting private message asking me this question. Just how 'water proof' do you consider your Belle(s)? :great:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi Guys, my day job is Mr. Minit, so I get to pressure test a variety of watches on a daily basis, and really the short answer is a BellMatic, like any other watch is only waterproof if ALL the seals are in good condition, and I don't just mean the visible o ring on the caseback. The crystal needs to be correctly fitted, especially if it has been replaced and the crowns also. The only way to know without turning your precious Bell into an anchor, is a pressure test. When I buy a new watch, (well an old new watch) the first thing I do is pressure test it, then fit a new o-ring to the caseback regardless of the result. O- Rings are cheap insurance. Anyway thats my 20 cents worth, (not really a short answer!) :)

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi John

i take it you refer to my question to you and am delighted that others did already have the same question in mind as well, very informative, thank you very much.

BTW: has anyone got a good address for servicing and restoration of bells in Europe, preferably in Germany or Switzerland? Private persons would be great, since there is more enthusiasm (a lot of the time lots of knowledge) to the bells, i think.

And where would I get the "tools" for opening and handling the bells?

best regards, Rolf

·
Registered
626 Posts
I can highly recommend my watchmaker here in Malta, S. Demanuele (google it), the guy's name is Charles, email [email protected].
He's fixed 3 of my bellmatics so far, and none cost more than 25eu. He is more than happy to ship overseas and is trustworthy.

If you intend to email him, tell him you know Dave with the Breitling .. I'm sure he'll work out who I am!

cheers.

·
Registered
222 Posts
From new they were water RESISTANT not water PROOF ;-)