The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I'm new to vintage watches so I have no clue whether this watch is real or not. Although there are several websites that describes what should a real vintage Seiko 5 look like, I'm still confused at this point. Anyways, I got this watch on E-Bay for AU$45 from an Aussie seller that has 100% positive feedback (selling several things including vintage watches) and the watch is on the way.

The seller's description on the watch are:

Simply shake to start automatic movement, set time and wear

New leather band
21 jewels
Refurbished and serviced
Keeps correct time
Made in Japan
1980's

Take a look at the pictures provided by the seller.

Attachments

·
Ultimate Collector
3,244 Posts
Well, it's hideous. The dial defies belief.
There's no way Seiko produced that...

From India I reckon.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's the thing, it's so hideous looking that I ended up getting it. Anyways, that's unfortunate. I want to return it and get a refund, but its just a hassle at this point. Mighty as well use it for whatever "screw it, I don't care" occasions. Also, this came with an above-average quality 18mm leather strap that is useful.

Do you have any watch suggestions that fits an 18mm strap?

·
Registered
808 Posts
I wouldn't be so sure on that. looks like it might be an Allwyn A6319, an Indian manufacturer, made under licence from Seiko.
If you look at the balance bridge you will see it has no rounded notch on the outer edge...pure Chinese forgery. Probably a CHI7009.
The dial is a standard Chinese one with the 'diamonds' at the 12 o'clock position.

I doubt this one came from India.

If it is running and keeping time, the OP should just wear it and enjoy it for the looks that attracted him to it in the first place.
Or crush it in a 100ton press :eek:hmy:

·
Registered
63 Posts