The Watch Site banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone, I'm looking for information on fixing a Seiko Chronograph Model 7T62-0CD0. Currently, the crystal is cracked severly and neither button seems to work - they press into the watch OK, but nothing happens. The watch still keeps good time, though. I'm interested in attempting to fix as much as I can myself, but while I'm somewhat mechanically inclined, I'm a novice at watch repair. I have a basic set of tools and have replaced the battery, though.

1: How do I figure out the size of the crystal so that I can order a replacement?

2: Do you have any recommendations for where to order replacement parts from?

3: Is there anything that I can try to fix the buttons that doesn't involve taking apart the movement? (Edit: The buttons both work, the problem's with the hands. See below...)

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,808 Posts
The part number for the crystal is 300P04HN02. Can you let us know where you are located so we can suggest parts suppliers.

When you changed the battery did you reset the movement? This normally involves shorting the battery and a point on the movement marked AC.

Just to eliminate the mechanical side you should be able to operate the button contacts manually when looking at the movement. Sometimes the buttons can get clogged up or stuck and not make proper contact.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you very much! I live in Las Cruces, NM. The nearest big city is El Paso, TX - about an hour away.

I've shown my watch to a couple of jewelers in town, and the cheapest quote give to replace my watch crystal is $50, or $80 for a sapphire face. If I can order one online and replace it myself I would prefer to. The tutorials I've seen online on how to replace the crystal don't seem too hard with proper tools, and there's a local Harbor Freight that sells a watch press and dies.