The Watch Site banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

My "sweet spot" for my Seiko purchases is around US$200, although I have paid twice that much for certain models in "like new" condition, even two and a half times as much for a couple recently.

So there are many models that are just "out of reach", which doesn't bother me at all. I wear all my watches no matter how "precious" or "historical", and they get banged against door frames and desktops. :-O There are no "safe queens" at Thomas's house! :-D

And as much as I spend on watches, I am not wealthy. I rent a tiny house out in the boonies of southern Ohio, and drive a 2000 Dodge Dakota pickup. If I owned a $3000 watch I would freak out the first time I dinged it, so I simply do not want a watch that is too expensive.

On the other hand, I am a perfectionist engineer. If there is one thing I understand above all else, it's "quality"!

Hey, look! One of those EMS bags from Japan!! Woohoo! :-D

Click for Big Image

Ah-ha! There is that neatly packaged and labeled bundle, that tells us what seller this is from! :) HEY! Don't read that label!! :-\ You'll ruin the surprise!!

But instead of the usual plastic organizer box, this one seems to be in a big, watch gift box??

Click for Big Image

And yes, there is the outer gift box, a relatively generic black example.

Click for Big Image

And in that is a 70's "leisure-suit style" stitched watch box! Get down! :-D

I usually have a problem with opening watch boxes though...

Click for Big Image

Darn it, it's stuck!! :-( This always happens to me!

Help me push okay? I want to get this open! Push... Push!!

Click for Big Image

There we go! It's a really clean 1973 Grand Seiko 5646-7010, except for the crystal. Also known as a "56 Grand Seiko Weekdater", it has a "tweaked" for accuracy 56xx series day/date movement, running at 28,800 bph, hacking, hand-wind-able and automatic.

Click for Big Image