The Watch Site banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! I'm fairly new to tinkering with watches. I just ordered a few Natos for my Monster and a spring bar tool as well. No problem with the Monster since it has lug holes.
Now I tried experimenting on the Orient Mako but it doesn't have lug holes. And somehow (i'm sure i'm just not doing it right hehe :-[ ), the spring bar tool (with forked end) doesn't seem to fit the gap on the inside of the bracelet... :(
i tried the "search" function on the forum but to no avail. I also tried the checking the "how to.." section but as mentioned, i don't think the tool fits.. :(
thanks in advance! ;)

·
Registered
2,504 Posts
Seems unusual. Maybe you can post a picture of the junction of the bracelet to the case from the underside.

Everyone may not specifically know what the New Mako is, but I'm sure a lot of people can help you get the bracelet off just by looking at a picture.

·
Registered
162 Posts
I had the same problem with my New Mako, I ended up using a needle or pin instead. I found it much harder to put the bracelet back on again... ???

·
Registered
964 Posts
I second the request for picture. Normally all bracelets used on watches without drilled holes have a slot for the small Bergeon "fork".
To put slightly tolerated bracelets with solid end links on and off might, however need two of those tools and a helping hand, or one of those tools:

If you cant get it done with the small fork (remember, there's a bigger size as well), try it with screwdrivers that fit, Ask someone to give you a helping hand to stabilize the watch and try to push down the collars of the spring bars.
If the springbars have no collars (and the watch has no through holes) you will have to destroy the springbars.

Cheers,

Axel

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
hey good news! ;D