The Watch Site banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About 35 years of wrist goo congealed into this bracelet and on the back of my recent barn find 7546. How does one clean it? As I said earlier, I'm new to the watch world, and when my SKX007 gets stinky, I just lather it up with some gentle hand soap and voila. Not so much on this old fella.

Thanks!

·
Registered
172 Posts
I take it you do not own a ultra sonic cleaner? These are pretty cheap on eBay and even the low priced ones seem to work ok. Other wise remove the bracelet and soak in warm soapy water for a while. Get an old tooth brush and work all around the bracelet and rinse off. The case back will need to be cleaned up too. If you don't have the tools to remove the stem and take out the dial/movement just use a damp tooth brush and some metal cleaner. I always finish off with a stainless steel cloth. Should come up really well.

·
Registered
156 Posts
If you have an espresso machine use thr steam nozzle. Ultrasonic cleaners are okay but to really remove the crud you need some pressure and heat.

·
Registered
540 Posts
Ultra sonic cleaner works just fine.. For big jobs, you may want to take an old tooth brush and use soap and water to it first would save you some time in the ultra sonic cleaner.

·
Registered
166 Posts
White spirit

I usually clean it thoroughly with dishwash liquid and an old toothbrush before dumping it in a jar of methylated spirit to soak for a day.

After you remove it, rinse under the tap. You will see lots of gunk at the bottom of the jar.

·
Registered
215 Posts