The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A local mate of mine has committed to buying this 6139-6002. Does the dial look good to you guys? I note the tick marks on the subdial don't go all the way too the edge.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
862 Posts
I’m not sure of the subtle differences between the silver T and R dials. This photo from a certain French collector..... trust he wouldn’t mind.

·
Premium Member
2,875 Posts
It's always difficult to tell with an 'R' dial, some of the fakes can be difficult to spot.
Studying the photo's as closely as I can... I reckon this one is right.

I am a lot happier with a 'T' dial.

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
I know this is an R dial variant but does anybody have concerns about the As in Japan being pointed versus flat As. Also, the markers in the sub dial do not appear to extend all the way to the edge of the sub dial like the example of the T version noted above. I am no expert. Maybe these slight variances are standard for R variant dials. The Wabi on the lume makes me feel better about the dial being legit. If it is a reproduction dial, it is very good. The watch looks fantastic.

·
Registered
506 Posts
I know this is an R dial variant but does anybody have concerns about the As in Japan being pointed versus flat As. Also, the markers in the sub dial do not appear to extend all the way to the edge of the sub dial like the example of the T version noted above. I am no expert. Maybe these slight variances are standard for R variant dials. The Wabi on the lume makes me feel better about the dial being legit. If it is a reproduction dial, it is very good. The watch looks fantastic.
I had the same reaction that you did ... the pointed “A” font shows up regularly on bogus dials, but the slightly degraded lume made me think that it’s probably legit.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts