The Watch Site banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Administrator
30,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just stripped a dozen or more 6309s and SKXs and it got me to thinking which is the best crystal retaining system.

Personally I would be inclined to think the nylon gasket in good condition would be better than the 6309 retaining ring system, what do the experts think ?

·
Registered
6,233 Posts
Well I'm no expert, but my experience with retaining ring crystals is that they leave a little to be desired for true water resistance. You need just the right "pop" on the crystal press.

I also find the nylon gasket must be new. Never re-use it with the replacement crystal. Nice you readjust by inserting one side down farther if needed.

I'd love to hear the deepest dive rating quoted by Seiko on a retaining ring system.

·
Registered
2,999 Posts

·
Administrator
30,131 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
IMO (and I'm no expert) the best crystal sealing system is the one used in the Citizen Ecozilla: a nylon O-ring that goes around the crystal perimeter coupled by a threaded crystal retainer, which makes the watch suited for mixed-gas diving without the need of a He valve.

Look at Duncan's post: http://www.thewatchsite.com/21-japanese-watch-discussion-forum/126130-ecozilla-mr-galbraith.html#post1008466
Like you Chris i am no expert but I would imagine the screw down ring takes some beating and I wouldent even compare it with the two methods I mention at the start of this post, chalk and cheese :)

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
I am surprised the 6309 diver retaining ring method and 7002 diver friction fit nylon gasket type actually work when it comes to diving. They are a bugger when using after market crystals, gaskets or retaining rings as they need to be a precise fit and rarely are.
Although they are an arse to unscrew I favour the screw down style of the 7c43. I just feel more confident with the method.