The Watch Site banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Newbie here. I'm pretty new to watchmaking and just starting out as a hobby.
So far, i've successfully serviced/rebuilt a felsa 1560 and working on couple of others.
I just got done rebuilding a felsa 690 bidynator. I immediaty tried the winder which worked great and even timed to within couple sec/day. But then I found that when i tried to adjust the minute hand it was stuck. Further investigation shows that the cannon pinion is to tight on the center wheel. I have a few of these movements now, both the 1560 and 690's some just for parts and learning but all of the 3 cannon pinions i have seem to tight some where i can barely move them with the adjuster.
I guess there is supposed to be a little bit of friction between cannon pinion and center wheel but how much and how could i loosen then up a bit?
Thanks for any info.

·
Craftsman
1,993 Posts
If you could show us a picture that would help. Did you apply appropriate lubrication when installing the cannon pinion onto the center wheel? If so, what lubrication did you use?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I did try some lube - Moebius 9104 without much difference. I also have 8200, 941 and 9010 if you think i should use instead. I do have one cannon pinion that works a little better. That is to say i can move it with the stem in the adjustment position but still seems a bit stiff. I guess in essence i just need to understand the relationship between the cannon pinion and the center wheel staff before i can begin to find cause of problem. Is there supposed to lubrication between CP and center wheel staff? Is there supposed to be friction to some degree?

The build i'm trying to get working properly....
Helmet Gas Font Circle Metal

A stripped down base plate i'm testing different cannon pinions on.....
Circle Font Metal Auto part Electric blue