The Watch Site banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just received this watch yesterday, took about 6 days to get here. First off since I'm new to automatic watches so I did the following:

- Found the watch not moving at all during unpacking.
- Shook the watch, played around with its crown and metal ring trying to figure out how to get it to move and no luck.
- Laid the watch and left it alone for a few secs and then found the watch working all of a sudden.
- Getting excited and started to adjust the time and test the lume, the lume wasn't so bright.
- Left it alone again for about 7 hours and then found it stopped moving again.
- Followed an instruction on how to wind an automatic watch on youtube, twirled the crown 30-60 times and then secured it back.
- Left it alone again for about an hour and a half and found it stopped moving again even sooner.

The questions:

- I heard that automatic watches can usually last about 48 hours unworn. Something wrong with my watch?
- Did I miss something?

Any response will mean a lot! Thank you!

·
Registered
88 Posts
Automatic watches rely on movement and not every one can be wound from the crown. Wear the watch for a full active day and then see how long it will run on your bedside table.
Most lume will not appear very bright except in total darkness. Some older types of lume have to be exposed to light to "charge" and lose their brightness very quickly.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Don't worry, the 7s26 in there (I assume is a 7S26?) has no hand winding. Shake it till it starts going, set the time, and wear it. It should be fine. As stated above not all auto's have a hand winding feature. The lume needs to be charged by light, sunlight is best. It should grow brightly, but if it's older or an aftermarket dial it might not glow much. I have an older SKX007 and the lume is not very bright at all.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)