The Watch Site banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't have any experience in movement tinkering, but I'm pretty interested. I learn by doing, so I'd love to pick up a cheap movement to take apart and reassemble; something I could bin and replace if I mess up (maybe a super basic Eta, Sellita, or Miyota?).

Does something like this exist? If so, is this something I could do if I have no experience but am a black belt in Google-fu?

I also saw those clock puzzles on Amazon. Maybe I should start with one of those?

·
Super Moderator
2,980 Posts
Watch schools typically start with a ETA 649x. You can get a Chinese equivalent for not much money, which is what I’d recommend as a first foray. Starting with a smaller caliber that has automatic winding and calendar complications isn’t setting yourself up for success, and the 649x will teach you more about the fundamentals and history of movement design than a later caliber built more for efficiency and size.

I also recommend starting with a working watch, so that you know who to blame if it doesn’t run afterwards;-). Seriously though, diagnostics and repair is a different thing than taking apart and putting together- baby steps.

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
As above, go for the 6497 or 6498 Chinese clone. They're big and easy to work on. There is also a service guide that you can download for the genuine ETA movement that will help you out.
If you get it back together you can celebrate by buying and case, dial and hands to suit off eBay and build your own watch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
480 Posts
I've been learning on 7002 divers cos they seem(ed) to be easy to come by both cheap and broken (and make a nice watch when fixed). Theres also tons of info/photo shoots here on strip downs and rebuilds if you get stuck or can't get it running. Also 7009s are even cheaper and good for a lot of spares for them eg balances.