The Watch Site banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I just pulled the trigger on a batch of 13 movements for spares off Ramon on the bay, I'm not expecting fully working movements and looking at the pictures they aren't pristine, so if anyone has bought before what can I expect? I know a picture says a thousand words and I studied it hard and I know what I saw, but hey I like to ask others that have had previous experience.
Oh and I also bought a trio of 6309 divers at the same time to work on, now feeling reasonably smug with my self.

·
Craftsman
2,114 Posts
They're good for parts. I bought a dozen 6309's from Ramon and got pretty much what I expected, but the balance staffs are generally roached along with the hairsprings, I think I had one good balance out of 12! Well not so much good as usable. :)

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers cannop, as with everyone I think it's the balances that are in high demand, although snapped pivots on wheels have been quite common recently, so a nice supply of parts won't go to waste, again they're good to practice on so it's not wasted money. Now I just have to be patient and wait for items to arrive.

·
Registered
5,973 Posts
I have had the same experience as Duncan, I bought 6619's, 7625's, and a few other of that vintage. Shot balance assemblies but otherwise some useful parts.

·
Registered
3,899 Posts
I did get a Lot of Ramon once and it had .......( 9 movements. )
Everyone had good parts except .......... ( 4 Balance Wheels had
broken Hair Springs.)
And also some rusted screws. Besides all that they were very good
to have.
I played around and got some Hair Springs done good so I used them.
Ramon stated all the details to them so he was alright to deal with.
I say , you can always trust Ramon.

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #6