The Watch Site banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning and Happy New Year to all!

I'm a newbie to this forums but I have been dropping by now and then to check out posts/reference materials. I have been cultivating my interest in Seiko watches for almost 2 years now, and I have a question for the more experienced collectors here regarding the 3 lines mentioned in the title.

A picture of an example of each range can be found here (musingsofawatchaddict.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/cam01155.jpg).

From my information gathered from the Internet, the Laurel range (please note that the name Laurel was also given to Seiko's first wrist watch, and hence is the line with the longest history, with the Alpinist line being the second longest) was re-introduced in the mid 1990s (probably 1995 and 1996). More information can be found at (nakahiro.parfait.ne.jp/laurel/) . At that point in time, it appear to be of a mid to high-quality line of watches. Given that the Grand Seiko was properly re-introduced in 1998, I'm guessing that the lines higher than Laurel was the Credor line at that point in time (?). Anyway, given the lack of demand in the Laurel range in the mid 90s, that Laurel line was short lived, probably for 1-3 years. Prices ranged from Yen 50,000 - 75,000 for the mechanical watches. They were all time only models for the mechanical watches, using the 4s family of calibre as far as I'm aware.

Moving on to the Credor Phoenix line, which I believed was introduced in 1998-2000 (my model is from 1999). This line was considered to be the mid to high quality line of watches, below the Grand Seiko line. To note that the Grand Seiko was also re-introduced at this point in time in 1998. This particular range was also short lived, for about 1-3 years. Prices started from Yen 100,000 for the mechanical watches. There were time-only, chronograph and retrograde models, using the 8L, 6s and 4s family of calibre as far as I'm aware.