The Watch Site banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question about the bezel. They all say that it is one piece, it does not have an insert. They also say that the bezel scratches easily and since it is one piece, the whole bezel needs to be replaced. Does it scratch easily? Anything that can be done to protect it?

·
Registered
72 Posts
That’s what I have read on the web as well but at least 2 people here can explain in detail about the MM bezel and insert. Those 2 people are Dr. Seiko (Randall Benson) and Jack @ IWW.
I am no MM expert and I do have a MM but I have not taken the bezel apart to see for myself. To me if it’s a 1 piece bezel then why the insert itself has an acrylic in appearance and feel to it? And it’s shiny as well. :eek:

I am familiar with an all one piece stainless steel bezel and insert where the numbers are anodized directly onto the top part of the bezel (older Heuer chronograph watches). It does not seem to be the case for the MM. I would like to hear from the experts as well.

I don’t think the MM bezel insert is scratch easily, but all bezel inserts including the platinum one on the Rolex Yatchmaster will have scratches if bang on it hard enough. ;D

·
Registered
185 Posts
Jack and Randall can tell you anything about it.

I can tell you a little about it.
I had to take the bezel off- and replace the gasket. So I got a good look.

Before I could get a gasket ( someone very very kind helped greatly with the gasket, thank you J.A.)
I had the bezel off and got to take a close look.
Actually so did Ithsmus , we live local to one another.
and so did several watchmakers, or supply type guys local to me.

I am really not into taking watch pictures, and usually I am to doing the project- to stop and take pics.
It hardly occurs to me.
Basically it very much does seem that the bezel does not have an insert and the bezel insert it poured
into the bezel itself.