The Watch Site banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
5,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I mentioned in another thread that I'd found a '72 -8002 on El Bayo for a good price. Terrible photos, seller said movement was partially non-working, but that it came with an original bracelet. It just showed up, and I haven't really tested the movement, but when I pulled it out of the box, this is what greeted my eyes:

yes, that's the original Kreisler Sterlux! And the best part is that it has ALL of it's original links, all of them! Holy crap!

:-[

Well, I think it's impressive... but then I'm a newbie. You long-time collectors probably have so many of them you use them for target practice. ;D

·
Registered
4,564 Posts
Lol, there aren't that many of those bands around, nice catch. Nice looking 8002 as well..

I really like the size and feel of the 8002 for some reason. I think it is the case shape.

My 8002 says hi!!

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Nice! Gotta love those little surprises. Here is one of mine...it's an -8001. This watch has the distinction of being the VERY FIRST vintage Seiko I ever bought. I purchased it in 2002 to replace my aging Citizen Navihawk. Then "the madness" began... ---A

Attachments

·
Banned
5,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Mine has that identical dial, or did. mine was SO faded and hacked. The hands were faded to plain metal. The body was badly badly "polished", probably with a file.

I worked the bejeesus out of it with an actual Dremel and polishing compounds, got out the worst of the damage... wish I knew how to put the brushing back. Anyway, the face was so badly faded that I modded the watch on a whim, using the dial from a 6139-6040 as well as a new set of hands. The movement is surprisingly nice however - keeping perfect time so far, running great.