The Watch Site banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone help me please.

I like watches with the Day/date at 3hr and the stem/crown at 4 Hr
I am trying to find a movement to fit for a project watch based on a Seiko SQ Sports non runner I bought recently.

As a beginner I think I will be able to replace the movement and add new hands but doing mechanical repairs is, at the moment, beyond me.

The only movement I have found which I think might work is an ETA 2846 but the price of these is uneconomical for a watch which has so far cost me very little and which I am using to practise on.

Any help will be very much appreciated.

To give an idea of my skill level here is a 1920s trench style watch I bought for £5 and have got running my modifying it with a Ronda 1069.

Thanks for looking,
Bern

Attachments

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
7s26B,
Thank you for such a quick reply.

I must be missing something as TimeModule.com has been suggested by someone else but I can't find any 11 1/2 ligne movements there with Daydate 3hr and stem 4hr.

My apologies if I have missed it/them but could you be any more specific as to the item(s) model refs I should look for please?

Bern

·
Researcher
5,311 Posts
If you're doing a mod, some flexibility will be required - especially if you want to swap quartz to auto, as autos are often twice as thick. Movement spacers can be changed if the movement is smaller for instance.
You have given a set of rigid requirements, but not even given the original movement number or size, same with the internal case depth etc.
Without being more specific in some areas, and less in others - no-one can help you.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
7s26b,
Thank you for the guidance on what to specify.
Being very new to all this I am basically learning from scratch so my apologies for not specifying all this correctly.

The original Seiko SQ Sports
Details on the quartz movement