Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum  Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading

Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading (https://www.thewatchsite.com/index.php)
-   Non-Japanese Watch Reviews (https://www.thewatchsite.com/42-non-japanese-watch-reviews/)
-   -   Help Identify This Chronograph. (https://www.thewatchsite.com/42-non-japanese-watch-reviews/283898-help-identify-chronograph.html)

Seiko Hoarder 07-21-2017 08:59 PM

Help Identify This Chronograph.
 
The watchmaker I go to bought this off a customer who sold it to him rather than pay the watchmaker $170.00 for an overhaul. Other than having an Omega movement, he knows nothing about the watch. I told him I'd investigate it for him. Any ideas?


http://i.imgur.com/XhRkld6.jpg


http://i.imgur.com/nGnbx5J.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/2ANEcBh.jpg


http://i.imgur.com/YrgiH8P.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZijTJGv.jpg

vinylgreek 07-22-2017 12:50 AM

Bullocks was a Southern California high end department store and Wilshire was their flagship store so apparently this was a private label piece. Sorry that is the limit of what I can offer.

tritto 07-22-2017 05:48 AM

Is there any reason to think it's an Omega movement. Chances are it's a Lemania movement, on which the Omega (and Tissot) chronos are based.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

koekoek 07-22-2017 07:15 AM

It is no omega movement. Omega didnt make its own chronograph movements back then and i dont think they have ever sold other brands their movements.

As Vinylgreek says it was department store. It was fairly comon back in the day that those stores made their own branded watches. Hence there are so many of these obscure chronograph brands out there. They would buy standard Valjoux/Venus/Landeron/Lemania movements, cases and dials and they could sell their "own" watches. So it most likely has a standard Valjoux/Venus/Landeron/Lemania movement, i dont know which one. Looks like a fairly good one with the column wheel. Age wise the watch is probably 50s or 60s.

Seiko Hoarder 07-22-2017 09:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tritto (Post 2272474)
Is there any reason to think it's an Omega movement. Chances are it's a Lemania movement, on which the Omega (and Tissot) chronos are based.

I agree.

There must be a similar piece made around the same time that may act as a guide to its relative value.

Seiko Hoarder 07-22-2017 10:02 AM

Perhaps it is close to this Lemania 105:


Thank you. My watchmaker is vital to me. I must keep in his good graces!

Seiko Hoarder 07-22-2017 10:44 AM

Thank you all for the leads. The gentleman's first language is Vietnamese not English, and is not able to track down things on like as easily as some of us may.

This is the message I texted to my watchmaker this morning:




John,

The watch you showed me yesterday is NOT an Omega, but rather a 2 sub-dial Lemania 105, stainless case, luminous hands, blue tachymetre scale, and round pushers.

The round pushers superseded the coffin pushers around 1950-55 in almost all of Lemania's range.

So, it is early 1950s.

Serviced and with a service guarantee, they go for between $800 - $2000 on line.

Here are a few examples:

http://www.chrono24.com/lemania/105-...-id5442758.htm

http://www.chrono24.com/lemania/mili...-id6395456.htm

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Lemania-chro...3D272547931859

http://www.vintagewatchco.com.au/wat...ProductID/1663

http://www.vintage-oyster.com/1950s-...ze-Chronograph


I hope this helps. You always help me.

Thanks,

Tickswift 07-22-2017 10:48 AM

That looks like Swiss Venus or landeron can just see 49 under centre wheel .usually Calibre number is under the balance wheel, that movement shouts quality .these chronograph from this era are wonderful quality movements

boemher 12-12-2017 03:36 PM

it looks great, possibly Russian in origin ?

[email protected] 05-31-2018 04:45 PM

for me a landeron 49

bloody watches 06-01-2018 04:04 AM

Hang on a second you all missed the crucial point $170.00 for an overhaul-on a chrono, geezus what his contact details


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.