Internet Service Providers - Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum – Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2019, 06:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
SeikoPsycho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE PA
Posts: 3,277
Points: 111 (+)
Question Internet Service Providers

I'm currently using Verizon DSL via the phone line. For the last several weeks the service has been slower then dial up and continues to drop out. Pages don't load until several attempts are made. Messages don't show as sent and a new page has to be loaded to verify they actually have been sent. Email doesn't open most of the time.
To double check everything on my end I've run a new C3 cable directly from my service connection stright to my router, replaced my router, and ventured into the Maze of getting Verizon to send out a technician to check things on their end. So, the conclusion is: Wait for it.............lol. The problem's not on my end but on theirs. Several others over a wide area have the same problem and it's sporadic. They're working on it but haven't narrowed it down yet. A week later, still No Joy!
So now I'm considering other options. Does anyone have any experience with Hughesnet Satellite internet service. How would you rate it? Pros? Cons?
Any insight is appreciated!
Thanks!
__________________
Too Many Watches - Not Enough Time...

Gracefully Delivered from Delusions..........
It's not about Religion, It's about a Relationship........


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjcsMZRXqCc

SeikoPsycho2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2019, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 452
Points: 8 (+)
Default

Tom, I do know where I live we have a huge 2.4ghz over load. I put my network on 5ghz a few years ago and things have been great. It took comcast 6 months to NOT figure it out. We lost network connectivity every other hour it seemed. Frustrating for sure.

Good luck.
toxicavenger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2019, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Grammarofdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: US of A
Posts: 4,641
Points: 232 (+)
Default

It is against my religion to speak well of Verizon, but I will say that a new modem would be my first place to look. if you're running a cat 3 cable then it's not on Wi-Fi, but if it is, definitely a new router as well. I know all of mine get old and then they give trouble and when I replace them everything goes back to wonderful.
Grammarofdesign is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2019, 06:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
SeikoPsycho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE PA
Posts: 3,277
Points: 111 (+)
Default

Thanks guys!

Verizon recommended the Cat3 and supplied a quality cable for me to use.

Already tried a new router. Actually 2 new routers. No Joy.
As I mentioned, Verizon has been on location with all their tech gear and the issue isn't here at my home.
__________________
Too Many Watches - Not Enough Time...

Gracefully Delivered from Delusions..........
It's not about Religion, It's about a Relationship........


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjcsMZRXqCc

SeikoPsycho2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2019, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
AqualandKing
 
TheNeilo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle UK
Posts: 14,630
Points: 1,012 (+)
Default

Virgin Fibre Optic Broadband is What I get here in the UK
With an average 262Mbps Speed which is the Fastest in our Country until Virgin release their New DOCSis 3.1 Gigabit Speed shortly which theoretically can provide 1-10 GIGABIT PER SECOND!!! you could do Virtual Shopping with that speed😜
Must admit Virgin are on the Pulse with Internet Speeds here with everyone else Playing Catch Up with them.
Even My Mobile phone On WiFi at home shows nearly 200Mbps!! Can’t complain here.
__________________
It is like a Finger Pointing away to the Moon."Dont Concentrate on the Finger or you will Miss all the Heavenly Glory"

TheNeilo1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2019, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Kue
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 69
Points: 7 (+)
Default

Cat3 - is that the cable from your phone line to the router/modem?

Do you have filters on all your phones sockets.

I have tried all manner of voodoo with my wiring and routers, but it usually points to your phone exchange being overloaded, water ingress or overheating.

Do you have telephone poles? Get them to change the cabling, they will be reluctant to do so.

If it depends on the time of day and weather then I would definitely harass your provider as chances are your neighbors are having the same problem.

I'm assuming it is the same experience on all devices in the home?

Switching to Cable has been the best thing I have done for my internet.
Kue is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2019, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
zeke441's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 3,765
Points: 331 (+)
Default

The problem with DSL over the phone lines is signal ingress. Phone lines are not shielded and are prone to interference and signal loss due to radio waves, poorly maintained lines and weather. It may not affect phone calls but can be a big problem for data to transmit. Phone lines are also very limited to how much data it can carry. CAT3 had a limitation of 10Mbps max. Cable and fiber are shielded, any ingress has to be addressed and repaired or it wont work. CAT3 is for the wall outlet to your modem, that's a telephone line, CAT5 or CAT6 is for network from your modem to your computer. CAT5 can go as high as 10Mbps, CAT6 can do 1000Mbps.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
__________________
"A man that wears a watch shows that being on time is important"
Pops - 1979 when he gave me my 1st real watch.

Seiko Saviors
zeke441 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following Member Awarded A Point to zeke441 For This Useful Post:
Old 09-26-2019, 05:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
SeikoPsycho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NE PA
Posts: 3,277
Points: 111 (+)
Default

Thanks guys for all your input. I switched to cable for internet service and what a difference!
__________________
Too Many Watches - Not Enough Time...

Gracefully Delivered from Delusions..........
It's not about Religion, It's about a Relationship........


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjcsMZRXqCc

SeikoPsycho2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following Member Awarded A Point to SeikoPsycho2 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum – Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.