Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum  Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading

Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading (https://www.thewatchsite.com/index.php)
-   Mod & Restoration Reviews (How I modded or restored my watch) (https://www.thewatchsite.com/20-mod-restoration-reviews-how-i-modded-restored-my-watch/)
-   -   A 5126-8130 Rally Diver Restoration (https://www.thewatchsite.com/20-mod-restoration-reviews-how-i-modded-restored-my-watch/320725-5126-8130-rally-diver-restoration.html)

Seiko Hoarder 08-24-2018 09:09 PM

A 5126-8130 Rally Diver Restoration
 
A 5126-8130 Rally Diver Restoration



About a week ago I got real lucky and won an auction for a piece that I never thought I’d own: a 5126-8130 “Rally Diver”.

While far from NOS, it has a lot going for it. The bezel is super-clean, and the yellowed lume pip tells me that it’s probably original. The case seems to be without many scratches or dings (I hope it hasn’t been polished). The blue paint on the indices and hands seems intact, if faded. The seconds needle seems to be the original Tomato Orange color. But above all is that lume: evenly yellowed, but with no sign of the black rot.

https://i.imgur.com/f7DmDd9.jpg

While I understand how a little “wabi-sabi” might be appreciated in an antique WWII pilot’s watch, it just looks tatty on this late 60s Sports Diver.

I intend a full restoration.

The crystal and gaskets will of course have to be replaced, and the mechanism will be overhauled (I have a 5126 donor dress watch standing by if the need arises). In addition the dial must be relumed, and IF needed the blue indices MAY have to be refreshed as well (or not).

I learned how to renew colored indices in a 2013 post by Fatthegreat, who performed this operation on an orange 5126-8120. He writes:

“FACE lift.....
For the face i have to brighten the ORANGE colour, and RE-Lume the dots ( to make it white and Fresh ) , Thinking for a while and >>> Artline HighLighter fluorescent Orange. That works Great!!, Hands as well.”


https://i.imgur.com/YygNJJK.jpg

A highlighter… why not!

A Highlighter seems to me a very conservative approach. Highlighter ink is translucent, so you’re just adding pigment, reviving what is already present, as opposed to layering on, covering, or replacing, which is what you’d be doing if paints were used.

The main difference between my watch and Fatthegreat’s is that my 8130 has blue painted indices and hands, while Fattegreat’s 8120 has these highlights in orange. Either way, highlighters are available in both colors.

https://i.imgur.com/LkWm31N.png

I’m sure all this all seems a bit premature since the watch has yet to even arrive, and isn’t even due for two more weeks (it’s coming from overseas), but the anticipation and planning of these things is half the fun.

I’ll be posting pictures as things develop, and I welcome any comments and suggestions anyone may have.

SeikoPsycho2 08-26-2018 08:49 AM

Sounds like a nice addition to any vintage collection! The blue areas of the indices may appear nicer in person and out from under that crystal. I would have to agree on a re-lume though. I'm still waiting to score the blue + orange dial version.



Welcome to the club.............:)


https://i.imgur.com/Al1Vo0P.jpg

Seiko Hoarder 12-07-2018 05:52 PM

It finally came today.

https://i.imgur.com/64lqeE9.jpg

The first time, the seller changed his mind and canceled the transaction. Last month, he listed it again. I offered him the same price I paid last time, and he accepted.

It's not as bad as I thought.

Manos a la obra!

Cajun72 12-07-2018 07:55 PM

Very nice, still waiting on mine.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Seiko Hoarder 01-31-2019 11:45 PM

I just got it back from the watchmaker.

https://i.imgur.com/F6veV2g.jpg

I was lucky enough to bump into the correct bracelet exactly when I needed it.

The dial work was done by a local jeweler friend.

And even though it was running fine, I paid to have it serviced as well.

https://i.imgur.com/F5c1okK.jpg


If I had bought one in pristine condition, I could never be as happy with it as I am with this one.

It is the PROCESS of hunting down the parts and pieces and watching the final product emerge that gives satisfaction.

peterrizzo 02-01-2019 09:49 PM

that watch is in better than new condition,

because it's been all loved up :)

honestly, it's visible...

Cajun72 02-11-2019 12:29 PM

Very nice, still searching for an original bracelet for mine.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

JaJak 05-05-2019 03:55 AM

Bracelet size of 8130
 
Hi guys, hopefully one or more of you can help me. I just picked up a really nice 5126-8130 Rally yesterday and was really excited until I saw how small the bracelet was! it's an original razor style with the arrow. (same as Hoarders new bracelet) Is this normal? I found a photo of one and it had the same number of links as mine. I am a big guy, but I can't even get the unlatched bracelet over my hand. Can you add links? Where would I even find them if It's possible?! I don't want to put another band on as I think that's integral to the look.
If I cannot re-size I guess I will be putting it back on the market! I really don't want to do that!

I would post photos but don't see how to do that.

Thanks for any info you may have.

nzwatchdoctor 05-13-2019 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JaJak (Post 2764725)
Hi guys, hopefully one or more of you can help me. I just picked up a really nice 5126-8130 Rally yesterday and was really excited until I saw how small the bracelet was! it's an original razor style with the arrow. (same as Hoarders new bracelet) Is this normal? I found a photo of one and it had the same number of links as mine. I am a big guy, but I can't even get the unlatched bracelet over my hand. Can you add links? Where would I even find them if It's possible?! I don't want to put another band on as I think that's integral to the look.
If I cannot re-size I guess I will be putting it back on the market! I really don't want to do that!

I would post photos but don't see how to do that.

Thanks for any info you may have.




You could add a clasp extension :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.