Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum  Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading

Seiko & Citizen Watch Forum Japanese Watch Reviews, Discussion & Trading (https://www.thewatchsite.com/index.php)
-   Mod & Restoration Reviews (How I modded or restored my watch) (https://www.thewatchsite.com/20-mod-restoration-reviews-how-i-modded-restored-my-watch/)
-   -   My first full restore. Seiko 7002 (https://www.thewatchsite.com/20-mod-restoration-reviews-how-i-modded-restored-my-watch/215826-my-first-full-restore-seiko-7002-a.html)

GuyJ 03-13-2016 06:10 PM

My first full restore. Seiko 7002
 
About two months ago I bought a cheap 7002 from Ramon via his eBay listings and this turned up.

http://i.imgur.com/8rFZLgR.jpg

It wasn't running and I knew the risks of these purchases but from what I could tell the watch looked OK. Genuine dial and hands although I've confirmed with Ivor that the seconds hand is AM. The bezel and insert looked original and actually in not too bad nick.

The watch arrived some time ago and I got stuck in. Case cleaned and gaskets checked. I had to send the crystal to Stefan to sort and he did a great job.

Prior to that I'd stripped the movement and checked it and rebuilt it. It was the first movement I'd done with an oiling and luckily had no balance wheel accidents! I will tackle this again but at least it's working and the crown is operating the date change without issue.


With that done I wanted to remove the lume from the hands which was pretty grubby and not in keeping with original lume so to get that sorted I bought a lume kit and practiced that a few times. I remembered a thread about silver plating the other week and so thanks to Peter on WR I bought some nushine silver plating polish.

Wanting to give this a try I sanded the hands down as best I could with some 2000 grit as they were pretty poor. The plating had eroded enough to let me battle away and for the cost of the watch I didn't worry too much. Once I'd sanded them down they showed their gold finish quite considerably but at least didn't look all gunked up with black blotches.

https://i.imgur.com/1pcHwaQh.jpg

After wondering how to use plating stuff I ended up blotting some on a clean soft duster rubbing it very liberally over the hands and let them sit for about 5 minutes. They went a dark grey colour and at this point I polished with the duster for about 10-20 seconds.

https://i.imgur.com/Xh9ukP5h.jpg

Not toooooo bad! :) Pretty decent, could be better, but an improvement to what they were when they arrived and what they were after I'd had a good go at killing them.

Leaving them for a short while I then tried to get a good mixture of lume. Small drop of the powder and a slightly lesser drop of the binder gave me a decent consistency that would hold well on the end of an oiler. However I will tackle this again as I think it needs to be slightly thicker.

Did the job and let them dry before fitting to the watch.

Only things now are to find a decent ish original seconds hand and get a click ball in place as I've lost the one spare I had!

Pretty happy but the movement needs a better service as although it's running I want to do it again and keep practicing. I will be attempting another lume as I don't quite think it was thick enough as I've said but and the dial could do with a touch up of paint in the centre but that's beyond me. Whoever previously had it had marked the dial quite badly when removing the hands. Weren't me guv oy swear!!


https://i.imgur.com/XkpUi0k.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Iy5W6jJ.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/eedtmwF.jpg

ramrod 03-13-2016 06:34 PM

wow! that is quite a transformation! she's in top nick. i like the look of the hands. that lume on the hands looks great. i personally would leave them as they are.
very nicely done, bodo.

GuyJ 03-13-2016 08:31 PM

Thanks mate. It wasn't too bad to begin with so mostly movement service going on. But was pretty impressed with how the hands turned put.

And when I say service.. I should really have respect for professionals and not say that.. But I guess I got it working again which is good enough for now!

jringo8769 03-13-2016 08:38 PM

well that looks great....i love Ramon and all of the watches we get to have fun with....excellent work

GuyJ 03-13-2016 09:21 PM

Thanks John!
Yeh tempting to do it on a more beaten up one. I like it when a flood of his listings hit eBay but I'm worried I'll spend too much.

I'm thinking leave the dial but I kinda wanna use my spray paint gun and mask off all but a circle in the centre and spray it a matte black and blend it in with the dial whilst covering the chips to the original paint.

Probably bad idea!

feca67 03-14-2016 05:02 AM

That's turned out really well, especially the hands - I've seen people try re-plating before, and yours look better than most I'd say. What kit did you use?

Half the people on here must have cut their teeth on a Ramon project, that guy has done more for practical horology than the entire Swiss watch industry, he's a legend.

I can probably find you a manky meatball if needed? Will need re-plating but at least that way it'll match the other hands.

GuyJ 03-14-2016 06:28 AM

That would be great feca67!! And thank you!

I posted this on WR about plating EDIT.. Should have said I found this post on WR..



http://wristsushi.proboards.com/thre...nd-restoration

It's thanks to Peter / penguinbce that this was the road I took.

I used a rough sandpaper at first and just held the hand with some rodico on the tip of screwdriver inside the pinion hole and gently took it to a finer finish with 2000 grit.

Once the hands were in this state I rinsed them, after blowing as much debris from them, in some lighter fluid and then some isopropyl.

I sat them on a a piece of plastic and with a piece of sponge I doused them in this stuff:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...BL._SY400_.jpg



Once that did it's job I rubbed it for about 20 seconds with a soft cloth. Cloth starts to pick up the silver particles and soon smoothes it to a sheen.

It took a couple of goes and getting a sort of acceptable finish but I was OK with how it looked. Maybe leaving them for an hour and either polishing again or applying more of the solution may be even better.

I have no idea how to plate them properly but this was better than I expected. I will probably give it another shot with the same hands and see if I can get them better.

By the way. I know it's not in bad condition as I received it. Crystal and movement really. And also calling it a service is a disservice to those who do this properly. So don't get me wrong. I know restore and service aren't really appropriate words here!'



So the link at the start is Peter's thread which was a great help. Also when I say I doused the hands I basically covered them in a small blotting it got on a sponge and left for about 30 seconds. The hands should turn grey ish and it's then you use a soft cloth to polish them up.

Aquaman 03-16-2016 10:41 PM

Very nice work. I've got a set of hands that really would benefit from this re-plating.
Doesn't look super difficult.. Do you think the 2000 grit paper was an important step?
Would 1000 or 1500 have worked just as well?
Mike

GuyJ 03-16-2016 11:33 PM

I think you'll be fine with it. Maybe best to go up in stages but if it's smooth enough a finish for you then simply plate it at that point.

You don't need much liquid to apply it properly so you can clean off and try again.

I just wanted to get rid of any blackening and they turned out OK. I will do it all again when a seconds hand arrives from Sam and post back with the new pics.

Go for it Mike.. Well worth it if you think you have some hands that would benefit..

Aquaman 03-17-2016 04:03 AM

Well, this set is a tuna handset so I'm a little nervous. I'm really considering just getting a new set and be done with it. Could send these off for a restore after I put in the new set. I know this sort of defeats the purpose of doing some of the restoration work on my own, but I also take alot of pride in "managing" a project. I've also got a dial with a big wear circle right under the hands. The wear extends out to just above the 300m text on the lower half of the dial. I'd really like to get that area looking good again but too worried about messing it up.
Your work looks great so far though. I truly applaud your courage here.
Mike

GuyJ 03-17-2016 02:13 PM

It's more like blind stupidity! Passes for courage sometimes. At least I think that's the quote from Rumblefish...

Cheers Mike.

Well you can wipe the plating quickly after if not happy. No sanding done. Show a pic of the hands maybe?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.